Sam Smith, rapper Future both released new materials, recently.

Sam has a new single out titled “Love Me More.”

The multi-awarded “Stay With Me” singer’s new song is a minimalist affair. A basic beat, rhythm guitar stabs and some layered backing vocals is all what Sam Smith needs to put his point across. It goes without saying that the focus is of course on Smith’s now easily recognizable voice.

“Love Me More” is “a candid introspection of Sam’s relationship with themself (sic) on a journey of self-discovery and happiness” said his official press. The new single also sees Smith working with long-time collaborators Stargate and Jimmy Napes. The new music video that released the same day as the single, is directed by Luke Monaghan with co-directing credits going to Sam.

Sam’s debut album is said to be the biggest selling debut of the decade, and since its release back in 2014, has sold over 33 million albums, 227 million single sales and 40 billion combined streams. He has won Grammy’s, BRIT Awards and an Academy Award. No mention yet of a subsequent album to follow the release of “Love Me More.”

Meanwhile, GQ’s so-called “best rapper alive” has a new album.

Future’s latest full-length album is titled “I Never Liked You.” The new single “Wait For You” sees Future collaborating with Drake and Tems. This mid-tempo bop, is said to “showcase the emotional side of Future” and is also described as “an instantly quotable anthem.” “This track is not the only collaboration with Drake on Future’s new LP. On “I’m On One” Future and Drake trade lines  on another mid-tempo, moody, trap-beat driven track.

Another biggie collaboration from Future’s new record is “Keep It Burnin’” featuring Ye (Kanye West). So, yeah, if we’re going to judge Future’s status in the world of rap music, the music acts he’s working with says a lot.

At sixteen tracks, “I Never Liked You” is chock full of hot spots. Another track titled “For A Nut” features Young Guns and Gunna. Elsewhere, there’s the sonic multi-layers of “Voodoo” featuring Kodak Black.

Rappers EST Gee (“Chickens”), BabyFace Ray (“No Security”), 42 Dugg & Lil Baby (“Like Me”), and Lil Durk (“Affiliated”) also make appearances in the new album.  

“Reignited and unstoppable” is how one publication describes Future, adding that the rapper’s “impact can’t be denied. Especially after eight solo albums, 19 solo mixtapes, one collaborative album, four collaborative mixtapes, two EP’s and one soundtrack (for 2018’s Superfly). He’s been streamed over 30 billion times and has, in the process, inspired an entire generation of rappers.”

Future is also said to have “invented his own sound, which has since become the dominant style in rap.”

Now that’s prolific.  

Khalid likewise drops a new single called “Skyline.” The pop-sounding, head-bobbing and dance-y new song is the official first single off Khalid’s upcoming third album that is slated for release later this year. A new music video for “Skyline” was released recently for the summer-vibin’ new track.

Source: Manila Bulletin (