The winners in the vocal and dance categories in the 2022 Pinoy K-pop Star were revealed.

Guests were treated with high caliber and spectacular performances last July 16 at SM Mall of Asia Music Hall from the finalists of both the vocal and dance categories.

2022 Pinoy K-pop Star winners ALPHA and Joy Locsin (KCC)

Hosted by Kring Kim, the 2022 Pinoy Kpop Star was attended by more than 1, 000 where 200 of them pre-registered tickets for the event.

The finalists in the vocal category were Sandra Dela Cruz, Merry Mia Sinaguinan, Danimei Everett, Joy Locsin and Stephanie Aseron.

In the end, the judges chose Locsin as the winner with her rendition of Hyolyn’s “So What.”

For winning first place, Locsin took home P50,000 cash prize and the right to represent the Philippines in the 2022 Changwon Kpop World Festival.

Sinaguinan, who sang a cover of I.U’s “My Sea,” and Dela Cruz, who performed Kim Sohyang’s “Hello,” won second and third places, respectively. Sinaguinan won P30,000 and Dela Cruz was awarded P20,000.

P-pop girl group KAIA performed at the event with a special version of their hit song “Blah Blah” and a cover of Le Sserafim’s “Fearles.” Some members of KAIA were former contestants in the previous years of Pinoy Kpop Star.

In the dance category, finalists Amiel Giann Surla, Project One, Alpha, and 7ØS performed covers of their selected Kpop songs. While the performance was interrupted on that day, Principium performed at the Korean Cultural Center building. Their performance was recorded and sent to the judges for scoring.

In the end, ALPHA won the hearts of the judges with their cover of N.MIXX’ “O.O” and claimed P50,000 cash prize. They were followed by Principium which won second place and P30,000 cash prize with their cover of Seventeen’s “HOT.”

Project One won third place and took home P20,000 cash prize with their cover of Treasure’s “Jikjin.” Both ALPHA and Principium will officially represent the Philippines at the 2022 Changwon Kpop World Festival in Korea.

The winners and participants will be awarded and honored on July 29 at a special awarding ceremony at the Korean Embassy.

Source: Manila Bulletin (