MTV announced new categories for the 2022 Video Music Awards (VMAs) and BTS, BLACKPINK, BTS’ Jungkook and Charlie Puth have been nominated.

For the Group of the Year, the nominees are BLACKPINK, BTS, City Girls, Foo Fighters, Imagine Dragons, Måneskin, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Silk Sonic.

Starting Aug. 20, fans can vote for Group Of The Year in a bracket-style voting on MTV’s Instagram Story.

(Clockwise from top left) BTS, BLACKPINK and Charlie Puth and BTS’ Jungkook (Instagram, Twitter)

For Song of the Summer, the nominees are:

Bad Bunny & Chencho Corleone – “Me Porto Bonito”

Beyoncé – “BREAK MY SOUL”

Charlie Puth – “Left And Right (feat. Jungkook of BTS)”

Doja Cat – “Vegas (From the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack ELVIS)”

Future ft. Drake, Tems – “WAIT FOR U”

Harry Styles – “Late Night Talking”

Jack Harlow – “First Class”

Kane Brown – “Grand”

Latto x Mariah Carey – “Big Energy (Remix) ft. DJ Khaled”

Lizzo – “About Damn Time”

Marshmello x Khalid – “Numb”

Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”

Nicky Youre, dazy – “Sunroof”

Post Malone with Doja Cat – “I Like You (A Happier Song)”


Steve Lacy – “Bad Habit”

Starting Aug. 23, fans can vote for Song Of The Summer in a bracket-style voting on MTV’s Instagram Story.

The nominees for Album of the Year are Adele – “30,” Bad Bunny – “Un Verano Sin Ti,” Billie Eilish – “Happier Than Ever,” Drake – “Certified Lover Boy” and Harry Styles – “Harry’s House.”

Fans can vote for the category starting on Aug. 27 through tap-to-vote on VMAs Instagram Story.

Dove Cameron, MTV PUSH artist Saucy Santana and Yung Gravy will perform during the 2022 VMAs pre-show.

Hosted by Nessa and Kevan Kenney, the 90-minute event will feature coverage from multi-platinum selling artist Tate McRae, who joins as a special celebrity correspondent. Murda Beatz will be the Kraft Singles House DJ.

Fans can also watch the 2022 VMAs pre-show on Twitter @MTV starting at 6:15 pm ET (Monday, August 29 at 6:15am SGT), featuring additional digital exclusive breaks – including retrospective red carpet fashion, jaw-dropping celebrity stage moments from VMAs past, and celebratory reviews of today’s biggest performers and nominees.

LL COOL J, Nicki Minaj and Jack Harlow are set to anchor the 2022 VMAs introducing the night’s biggest moments and star-studded lineup of performers, presenters and winners.

The performers at the 2022 VMAs include Anitta, BLACKPINK, J Balvin, Jack Harlow, Kane Brown, Lizzo, Måneskin, Marshmello x Khalid, Nicki Minaj, Panic! At The Disco and Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Eight-time VMAs winner Red Hot Chili Peppers will receive the Global Icon Award while Nicki Minaj will be given the Video Vanguard Award.

Source: Manila Bulletin (