The Philippine Association of Recording Industries (PARI) have partnered with major local music brand MYX to present this year’s nominees for the 35th Awit Awards show.

The announcement of the finalists for this year’s awards show was presented by popular music channel MYX last Friday, September 23, with a live show at Venice Piazza at McKinley Hill.

MYX, no stranger to mounting music awards themselves, gathered a handful of today’s popular Pinoy pop music acts and mounted a mini concert to go along with the formal announcement of the nominees for this year’s Awit Awards.

Boygroup BGYO, solo singing act Kanishia, pop band Nameless Kids, Ace Banzuelo and Morisette were on hand to perform their most recent hits.

Fandoms of said artists, along with the usual patrons of Venice Piazza, were treated to concert-level performances. Both fans and Venice Grand Canal mall patrons were obviously into the fact that live music shows like the one last Friday are slowly starting to return.

The upcoming 35th Awit Awards will be the first face-to-face live presentation of the famed popular music recognition show since the pandemic started more than two years ago.

Likewise, the main awards show, scheduled for November 23 at the Resorts World, will be mounted by MYX in partnership with PARI.

Gunning for the major music categories are SB19’s “Pagsibol”, Ben & Ben Pebble House: Vol 1: Kwaderno”, Zack Tabudlo’s “Episode”, Thyro Alfaro’s “Bagong Buhay Volume 1”  and Zild’s “Huminga” for the Album of the Year category.

For Song of the Year, Angela Ken vies with “Ako Naman Muna,” with John Paulo Nase “Mapa.”  Ben & Ben featuring Moira dela Torre for “Pasalubong,” also makes a run as Zack Tabudlo has two entries for “Habang Buhay” and “Binibini.”

Angela Ken’s “Ako Naman Muna,” Zack Tabudlo’s “Habangbuhay,” Ben & Ben’s “Mapa,” NOBITA’s “Unang Sayaw,” and Leanne & Naara’s “Anticipation,” vie for Record of the Year.

Source: Manila Bulletin (